Skip to content

Governor Walz announces appointments to the MAC board

​Governor Tim Walz has appointed Commissioner Rick King as the new Chair of the Metropolitan Airport Commission - the organization that owns and operates MSP. He reappointed Carl Crimmins as District A commissioner and Dixie Hoard as an outstate commissioner. In addition, the governor appointed Rodney Skoog to District F and Yodit Bizen to District H. Appointments are effective July 3, 2019. Following is additional information about the appointments.

Rick King – Eden Prairie, MN
Replacing: Daniel Boivin

Mr. King previously represented District B on the commission and currently chairs the Planning, Development, and Environmental Committee. He has been at Thomson Reuters since 2000 and is their Executive Vice President, Operations. Prior to Thomson Reuters, he was with Ceridian Employer Services, Jostens Learning, and WICAT Systems, Inc. He started his career as a teacher and coach in Vermont. He is a member of the Board of Directors for TCF Financial Corporation and serves on the Board of Trustees for Minnesota Public Radio, Minneapolis Institute of Arts, Greater MSP, and Minnesota Business Partnership. Additionally, Mr. King chairs the Technology Advisory Committee and the Blue Ribbon Commission on Information Technology.

Carl Crimmins – Champlin, MN
District A Representative

Mr. Crimmins recently retired after a career in government relations with the Minnesota Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Association and currently is a member of the commission's Operations, Finance, and Administration Committee. He also serves on the Minnesota Rehabilitation Review Panel, the Trustee Candidate Advisory Council, and as chair of the Board for the Basic Institute for Zonal African Advancement. He is a lifetime member of the 11th Armored Cavalry's Veterans of Vietnam and Cambodia and is a member of the Military Order of the Purple Heart.

Rodney Skoog – White Bear Lake, MN
District F Representative
Replacing: Michael Madigan

Mr. Skoog is the Administrator/Fund Coordinator with the Minnesota Laborers Fringe Benefit Funds. Previously, he was a Sales Representative with D.D.R. Associates and a Benefits Administrator/Client Services Manager with American Benefit Plan Administrators, Inc. He is a member of the Mitchell Hamline College of Law, where he served as the project leader for the Research Grant Steering Committee, and a former member of the Board of Directors for HealthWORKS Coalition.

Yodit Bizen – Apple Valley, MN
District H Representative
Replacing: Abdimalik Mohamed

Ms. Bizen has been a member of the workforce at the MSP Airport since 2001, and previously worked in occupational therapy for Lake Ridge Healthcare Center and the Wilder Adult Health Care Center. She has also served as a personal care provider with Augestena Health Center, Activity Aide, and JCC. She is a member of the American Occupational Therapy Association and the Minnesota Occupational Therapy Association.

Dixie Hoard – Thief River Falls, MN
Intermediate Airport Systems Representative

Ms. Hoard is a realtor in the Thief River Falls area and serves on the commission's Operations, Finance, and Administration Committee. She previously worked as a flight attendant for nearly 30 years for Northwest Orient Airlines, Northwest Airlines, and later Delta Airlines, where she was based out of MSP Airport.

The Metropolitan Airports Commission owns and operates the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and six smaller general aviation airports within the metro area. The commission meets monthly to represent the interests of the community in decisions related to these airports. It consists of thirteen members, including the chair, appointed by the Governor and one each appointed by the mayor of the City of Minneapolis and the City of St. Paul.